Posted by: thescoundrel | July 29, 2007

Twisted Evolutions


I have been kind of busy with scoundrel concerns and have not been blogging much. Still I managed some free time and while I was scouring the Internet blogs for news I came across a couple of posts about an incident that left my head shaking. I am not a fan of hate crime laws. Hate crime laws are like most other Dr. Feelgood legislation, they started out as a crusade for justice, that has started to develop into a warped evolution of it’s intent. Such is the latest case where a young man has been arrested and charged with a hate crime for throwing Korans into toilet stools. Now in all reality the man charged probably deserves a kick in the seat of his pants, a couple of ruler smacks across the knuckles for his stunt and maybe some community service working for a Muslim Mosque. The action is nothing short of a desecration of a holy symbol. But as was brought up by a blog poster comment on the article; in a nation where burning the USA flag is considered freedom of speech and where religious bigotry such as the Cross in a jar of urine or a rendition of the Virgin Mary covered in dung is considered artistic freedom – his appalling action is not worthy of hate crime status.

Newsday Article Link

Responses

  1. ‘Twisted’ is the right term when describing hate crimes – especially as your post describes. Why is a crime against a white male looked upon as less serious by our government?

  2. That is a good question, Jim. I think there are probably lots of reasons. One is the problem that there is still a lot of leftover guilt from our ancestors exploitation of slavery. And I actually think that the guilt is a good thing as it makes us question how we handle situations. And I do not fool myself, there is still a long way for all cultural groups to go before we defeat xenophobic behaviors and attain quality social harmony. I can think of more than one exboss, friend or associate whose favorite slur words started with a “N” or a “S” when they thought no one was listening. And I knew for a fact that I had been called by others such slurs as “cracker” “redneck” and “hillbilly” by other ethnic friends of friends. I remember one black friend, I haven’t seen in years, who used to get upset at me because I did not get mad when being called a hillbilly by his black friends. It only ticked him off more those times when I said, so what, I am a redneck and a hillbilly. One thing that always surprised me as a younger man was that most of my Democrat allied friends were more free using bigoted words than my Republican allied friends. And none of them seemed to be bothered by the knowledge that I had family, close friends and connections that belonged to noncaucasian cultures.

    But I also think that the various US social cultures tend to overreact and misinterpret events at times. Such is the case I feel with the hate crime charge over the Koran dunking. Until we learn to decipher as a society the difference between racial bigotry needing severe reactions and injudicious actions needing civility instruction we are probably doomed to overreact.


Leave a Reply

Categories

