Posted by: thescoundrel | November 2, 2007

The Hillary Clinton Train Keeps on Chugging


As I said previously I missed the Democrat debate so I have been reading the various stories examining the show. I read that the Republican Ron Paul followers made their presence known at the Democrat debate. That group has spunk! The story entering the debate was, would the Hillary Clinton runaway train continue or would Obama or Edwards derail her. The reviews seem mixed. Most of the articles I read suggested that Edwards was the Super-Chief of the debate. However the Obama camp also has claimed he chugged his way back on to the main track of contention. Another commentator suggested that though Clinton wheels spun, the spin has not slowed her Pennsylvania Avenue Express from moving towards the home stretch. They all are laying claim to the right to drive the finishing Golden Spike for the railway linking the Democrats from East-West-North-South in the 2008 POTUS election.

Some of my reading suggested that the Obama-Edwards camps received a little boost from the Q&A methodology that put the pressure on Clinton and allowed the other candidates to benefit from her usual noncommittal answers. Huh, that is the way a debate is supposed to work I thought. A question is asked and people are given a chance to give an answer. That is a problem with modern debates. Candidates want sound byte opportunities, not situations where they actually have to answer questions. Clinton stumbled because she wanted to offer sound bytes not answer questions. Obama and Edwards pressed her evasiveness on the issues and she flustered. She stumbled again following the debate by using the poor-little-‘ol-me defense; the big ‘ol bullies are picking on me. That is not a great image for a POTUS wannabe. Nor does that image fit her normal presence. I am not a fan, but she is one tough cookie. Yet I have not heard or read any instance where her faltering has done serious damage to her runaway train campaign. She still seems to be running down the tracks at full speed with little hope of the challengers catching up. She has given them some grease to spread on the tracks to slow her down. It is just a question of whether or not the lead she has can be slowed enough for the other track layers to catch up.

Debate Link 1

Debate Link 2

Responses

  1. In the spirit of Stephen Colbert, I created this hilarious mashup-equation that adds President Bill Clinton and future-President Hillary Clinton to get.. Billary! It balances out their equalities and differences in a humourous way. Please click below to check out and let me know what you think. Spread the link on if you can!

    http://www.brickfish.com/Pages/PhotosAlbums/PhotoView.aspx?picid=114698_97187440&=PPIMEMAIL&isep=1&pbapi=59976&pbvi=6229200

  2. As much as I’d like to see a woman president, I don’t trust Hillary as far as I can throw her.

  3. Hey, many people I know are talking about the fact that Hillary Clinton lost the lead in Iowa… most of them think she will lose the election. Myself, I’m not sure. But I don’t believe her message that “only the former first lady has the experience to bring about change”! Surely experience has more to do with political experience and knowledge, rather than merely being married to the ex-president. Anyway, I guess they keep their campaign messages fairly simple to appeal to people.


Leave a Reply

Categories

