Posted by: thescoundrel | December 31, 2007

Happy 2008 New Year!


The 2007 clock is winding down to a stop. As December 31, gasps it last few frail breaths tonight, the robust New Year of 2008 will roll in. Out with the old and in with the new! And as the new year rolls it way into our lives it gives us time to sit back and reflect about the past year. Many of us will be making umpteen million new years resolutions. Not me of course. I only have one News Years resolution and that is, not to make any new New Years resolutions. Some of us will be looking forward with high expectations. Others will be scuffling around shuffling their feet crying about spilt milk. Some of us will party hardy until we have run up humongous liquor costs, pass out then wakeup in the morning with a headache. Others of us will prop up our feet while reclining in Big Green with a cup of hot cocoa (or a nice frosty cold mug of Mt. Dew), Nestles Christmas Chocolate Jingles and/or chocolate chip cookies then fall into deep slumber watching the Twilight Zone Marathon. At such momentous times it is good to reflect on the wisdom of the great philosophers. And as I reflect on the 2007 that was, and the 2008 that will be, I cannot think of any better words to bring in the New Year than from the modern philosopher Toby Keith’s song “As Good As I Once Was“:

She said, “I seen you in here before.”
I said, “I’ve been here a time or two.”
She said, “Hello, my
Name is Bobby Jo
Meet my twin sister Betty Lou
And we’re both feeling kinda wild tonight
And you’re the only cowboy in this place
And if you’re up for a rodeo
We’ll put a big Texas smile on
Your face”
I said, “Girls,”

[Chorus]
I ain’t as good as I once was
I got a few years on me now
But there was a time back in my prime

When I could really lay it down
And if you need some love tonight
Then I might have just enough
I ain’t as good as I once was
But I’m as good once as I ever was

I still hang out with my best friend Dave
I’ve known him since we were kids at school
Last night he
Had a few shots
Got in a tight spot hustlin’ a game of pool
With a couple of redneck boys
One great
Big bad biker man
I heard David yell across the room
“Hey buddy, how ’bout a helping hand.”
I said, “Dave,”

[Chorus]
I ain’t as good as I once was
My how the years have flown
But there was a time back in my prime

When I could really hold my own
But if you wanna fight tonight
Guess those boys don’t look all that
Tough
I ain’t as good as I once was
But I’m as good once as I ever was

I used to be hell on wheels
Back when I was younger man
Now my body says, “You can’t do this boy”

But my pride says, “Oh, yes you can

I ain’t as good as I once was
That’s just the cold hard truth
I still throw a few back, talk a little smack
When I’m feeling bullet proof
So don’t double dog dare me now
‘Cause I’d have to call your bluff

I ain’t as good as I once was
But I’m as good once as I ever was
Maybe not be good as I once was
But I’m as good once as I ever was

Yee Haw and a Happy New Year Everyone!

Responses

  1. What? No Moon Pies? 😀

    Happy Bloggy New Year to you!

  2. Nope there was too much other Christmas sweets around the house. I didn’t make it out to Chocolate Manor until late Christmas week so there was a lot of chocolate around the house this week. I decided no Moon Pies! 😦 I didn’t even make my filled sugar cookies. But I have the stuff to make them, I will just wait until later on down the road to do so. 🙂 Besides all the family stuff wore me down this year! Its tough li(o)ving in a family where several members, some of which are too old to be told off and too old not to visit, have managed to catch Bush Derangement Syndrome. (It was to be expected as they are old-old time 80+ Democrats.)


Leave a Reply

Categories

