Posted by: thescoundrel | January 6, 2008

Yikes, Global Warming – Sun Spots – Ice Ages – Help Me Obi Wan


Well I was just getting recuperated from the original global cooling scare when the Goracle started up his Global-warming crusade. I was recently just starting to warm up to his disciples’ psalms of toasty equatorial summers in the middle of winter, the need for investing in Ohio and Arizona beachfront property and a permanent need for white clothing, sombreros and large quantities of sunblock lotion, when now I am getting pushed back in the other direction. It seems we are now entering Solar Cycle 24, which should really kick in to high action between its current start and 2012. Depending on which science guru you believe, we are now headed in to a global cooling event or a cataclysmic ice age. We are evidently supposed to start off with a little toasting effect though not so much at the hands of the Goracles global warming but more from the hand of some nasty sunspots that will warm up our Earthen oven. Afterwards, I am reading from one cosmically aware sun spot guru that we can eventually expect increased earthquakes, sunspot activity, volcanic activity and a brand new ice age robbing me of the few months of summer I normally am allotted to grow vegetables. So instead of an extended gardening season I am now supposed to go out and live in a cave, lay in a supply of lead lined clothing to protect me from the Sun flares. Then I am also supposed to stock up on warm poofy sweaters, long johns, insulated flannel shirts, heavy parkas, snow suits, ice picks and restock my stash of Y2K food and water supplies. Arghhh! –>I just finished using up the last of my previous Y2K soap, tooth brush and sundry items. Hmm, I wonder if I could just buy some lower land property so I could build my cave domicile under my current residence. Wheres Luke and Han when I could use a ride to the next galaxy for a visit? Soylent Green is People, or will be if this guru is spot on!!! Hmm another Charlton Heston Movie for Will Smith to remake?

Responses

  1. Soylent Green? Hmmmmm, that reminds me—-I need to start thinking about what to have for dinner tonight. 😀

  2. No doubt that global warming is very debated. I, however, have never heard that “man is causing” global cooling. For this – all I can say is that I hope that the people that believe this is natural are not wrong. But if man is causing at least part of the problem then why not do all we can. One thing not in dispute is that we cannot continue to use non-renewable sources on energy forever.
    Are you familiar with the ground floor movement to take solar to the masses by a company called Citizenre? They are trying market solar with an approach similar to satellite TV, cellular telephones, and alarm systems. That is to provide the customer a complete solar system with no upfront charges and make money from a service contract. In this case the service contract would be a rent agreement. They intend to put a complete solar system on clients home. When the system produces electricity, it will lower the bill from the current utility provider. In most cases the savings from the lower bill will more than cover the rent fee that the company intends to charge. The company currently has no product available but intends to deploy in the middle of 2008. They are currently taking reservations and have over 26,000 takers so far. I have written several articles on this company in my blog and even have a couple of videos that I have recorded at http://www.solarjoules.com. Feel free to take a look. I welcome comments. As in any start up business, a chance exists that they may never get off the ground and fulfill any preorders, but if this is the case – the potential client has not lost anything. If you cannot afford the upfront cost of solar today, this may turn out to be a great alternative. This solution would mean that we could produce at least a little less pollution and would be a great step “just in case”. And hey, the fact that you will save money on your electricity bill over time is a pretty good reason to look into it as well.
    If anyone would like company information you can go to http://www.jointhesolution.com/razmataz.

  3. The style of writing is quite familiar . Did you write guest posts for other blogs?


Leave a Reply

Categories

