Posted by: thescoundrel | January 27, 2008

Are You Ready For Some Super Bowl Sunday Football!!!


Just over six days left at the time of this post – Are You Ready For Some Football!! Would you be willing to pay $2450.00 to watch the Super Bowl up close and personal? I wouldn’t. Even more ridiculous is the news that Super Bowl tickets, originally sold on the open market by the NFL for between $700.00 and $900.00, are being legally scalped for on the average of $4300.00. Ouch, want more? Too bad yer gonna get it anyways. According to a Yahoo!/AP article by Vinnee Tong, Stub Hub is selling some tickets for as much as $19,000+ each for club premium seating. In the article one person is quoted as paying over $29,000 for a package that includes, tickets – hotel room, three people for three nights – breakfast – and a ride to the game! 😯 Double Ouch!! That better be some gourmet breakfast and include those little mints on the pillows! 🙄 (You do not want to know any thing more about hotel pillows, just be glad if they have mints laying on them!) There are some huge markups in those types of one-of-a-kind events. Ain’t capitalism grand! But then I am not even planning to watch the game this year, sorry Pepsi Co. you will have to find another venue to hawk your Mt. Dew to me, not that it takes much hawking to sell this consumer Yahoo Mt. Dew! Nope if there is any team that inspires me less to watch a professional football game than the New York Giants it is the New England Patriots. Nothing personal against either team – but I have no emotional bond to those teams. Instead I will be tuning to alternative Super Bowl entertainment like the Animal Planet programing, Puppy Bowl. But heck, I would not pay that kind of money to watch a game containing the team I do follow, the Chicago Bears, if it were in the Super Bowl game. The most ridiculous totals of all are actually what the corporations will be paying the networks for advertising time! But that is another post for another time.

Responses

  1. […] thescoundrel wrote a fantastic post today on “Are You Ready For Some Super Bowl Sunday Football!!!”Here’s ONLY a quick extractBut heck, I would not pay that kind of money to watch a game containing the team I do follow, the Chicago Bears, if it were in the Super Bowl game. The most ridiculous totals of all are actually what the corporations will be paying the … […]

  2. ROFLMAO! I was following a link that took me to a list of things that would not not be allowed into the University of Phoenix Stadium for Super Bowl Sunday. I was extremely relieved to see that mace, weapons, knives and explosives were on the “not allowed list” though I am sure that many of the ladies were disheartened with the exclusion of hairspray. I know I would be, how do they expect a 29+ years old guy to hold his thinning hair down in the gusting wind? I guess it is back to the greasy kid stuff and dippty doo! Hairspray makes my hair brittle and break anyway. I can’t afford to lose many of those hairs anymore!

    A theScoundrel non related article extra link: For a viewing of how to waste a perfectly good bottle of Mt. Dew with childish behavior. Final analysis, those boys need a good whipping to teach them about wasting the Dew!


Leave a Reply

Categories

