Posted by: thescoundrel | March 13, 2013

A New Pope – A New Hope


Normally – I would have something snarky to say about the selection of a new Pope. Don’t get me wrong I have great respect for most religious organizations – even the Catholic Church. They do great things for many-many people. I am not a Catholic but I am a Christian that very much believes in God and Christ. But in  my personal estimation, the Catholic Church  – much like many religious  institutes of all sects and beliefs – have become centered too much on operating like top-heavy corporations searching for markets.  Somewhere down the line the Christian Churches have stopped teaching the message of God and started teaching the messages of individual pulpit orators – marketing their personal message instead of the word of God. In many ways the modern world has built up a resemblance to ancient Sodom and Gomorrah.  

I am sure that some of my personal beliefs will clash with the new Pope.  And perhaps history will prove me wrong – but so far everything I have read about the newly selected Pope-Francis-I actually melts a little of the cynicism I have about those who have taken the helm of modern Christian Churches. A New Pope -and perhaps-  A New Hope for Mankind. We shall see.


Responses

  1. This whole process, and the media’s seemingly false fascination with cameras trained on the smokestack, was overkill (in my humble opinion). I’m glad it’s over; next?

  2. Everything the media does today is overkill. They don’t even bother trying to report news anymore, just entertain the clueless.
    I like the new look on the blog.

  3. LOL. I thought of you immediately when I read this: http://thismodernworld.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/TMW11-12-03color-copy-2.jpg

  4. I think the only time the mainstream media has an interest in religion is when they can manipulate storylines of religious events to boost their ratings.
    Yeah Cruiser I kind of like the look of the blog. But I haven’t decided to keep it yet. It pi$$ed me off right after I changed. It dumped all my old links in the change process except for three or four that rarely post. I had to reenter the links to yours and Ghosts site. Being sick I really haven’t had much desire to pursue hunting down the links lost.


Leave a Reply

Categories

